GER Wisbech and Upwell Tramcar Profile and Models

GER Wisbech and Upwell Tramcar

Tramcar No.7 at the North Norfolk Railway. Date unknown. ©North Norfolk Railway

Two bogie tramcars were constructed for use on the Wisbech & Upwell Tramway in 1884. These two vehicles were built by the Great Eastern Railway under order A17. Both vehicles were outwardly similar, however, details like panelling and roof layout were unique to each vehicle. They remained almost unchanged during their working life, apart from modified footsteps. After passenger services on the W&U ceased in 1927, both were transferred to the Kelvedon and Tollesbury Light Railway in Essex, working until line closure in 1951 and retaining their unusual longitudinal seating. Stardom then beckoned for No. 8. when it starred in the Ealing comedy The Titfield Thunderbolt – complete with bar! It was earmarked for preservation by the British Transport Commission and even restored into GER livery. Sadly, due to misunderstanding, it was scrapped on March 9th 1957. Number 7 was sold and became an onion store before being rescued for preservation. Acquired by the M&GN Society in 2002, it has been fully restored - complete with a Titfield-style bar.

(Information provided via Rapido Trains UK)

Type of Vehicle

Bogie Coach


Great Eastern Railway

Build Dates


Total Built


Wheel Configuration

2 x Bogies

Passenger Capacity

32 to 34 people

Operated By

Great Eastern Railway
London & North Eastern Railway
British Railways

Main Duties

Rural Passenger

In Service Until


Surviving Examples